Baby Hat

So this is basically my pattern, I took ideas from several patterns to make it. It’s a basic hat but you can do many different things to it like do seed instead of rib, or not do the ribbon just make a plain hat, or even put a little pom pom on top. I love making pom poms for baby hats I think it’s just too cute. It’s pretty simple once you get the hang of it, and if you’re still a beginner it’s a bit easier to not use the YO row. You can use any medium weight yarn or lightweight (just make sure the hat isn’t going to be too tight), soft yarn is best for baby hats.

IMG_0146 IMG_0145

Sizes: 0-3M 64 STS, 3-6M 72, 6-12M 80

Needles needed for this 0-3M you need US 7 DPN for 3-12M US 8 DPN
Note: you don’t have to use DPNs you can use straight or circular needles, it depends on your preference.

rows 1-5 Rib (K1, P1)

rows 6-9 begin Stockinette stitch(or just keep going if you don’t want to use ribbon)

row 10 K3 YO *K2tog K6 YO repeat from * K3 (3-6M K3 YO *k2tog K7 YO Repeat from * K4  — 6-12M K5 YO *K2tog K10 YO repeat from* K5)


rows 11-25 continue Stockinette stitch (3-6M 11-27, 6-12M 11-31)

these next rows are the decrease rows which round off the top and complete the hat.
If on Straight needles P between and on second to last decrease P2tog instead of K2tog, but always end with K2tog.


0-3M
K2 K2tog
K
K4 K2tog
K
K3 K2tog
K
K2 K2tog
K
K1 K2tog
K
K2tog
K2tog


3-6M
K4 K2tog
K
K3 K2tog
K
K2 K2tog
K
K1 K2tog
K
K2tog
K2tog


6-12M
K6 K2tog
K
K5 K2tog
K
K4 K2tog
K
K3 K2tog
K
K2 K2tog
K
K1 K2tog
K
K2tog
K2tog

Cut yarn (if on straight make sure you have enough to sew with) on a yarn needle thread the yarn through the stitches just worked and pull tight. Weave in ends.

If you have any questions or if you’re stuck then let me know and I’ll try to help you get through. This is a easy enough pattern that you can do in a few hours and looks so cute when finished. I’ll post a pattern for adult/kid hats later. Enjoy!

~Sarah~

 

This pattern is for private use only. Do not distribute or publish this pattern in any other form. If you like this pattern and would like to share please link to this blog.

 

Please do not make and sell this item.

 

16 thoughts on “Baby Hat

  1. hi I am interested in making this hat but I need the pattern written down I dont know if you could send me one or not please write back

    • I would gladly send you the pattern, is there any alterations you need done? like do you want the rib to be seed or just be a plain hat and not one with a ribbon? just let me know and I’ll get it down for you as soon as I can.

      ~Angel~

  2. Hi there, I really like the hat with the pom pom- could you please email the instructions for that one to me whenever you have a chance? I am a pretty beginner knitter, but this looks not too bad. Also, what does DPN mean? Thanks very much!!

    • I’ve made it with baby yarn, it’s slightly smaller but still fits. If you want you can use the next size up needles and it should be the same. Cast on and measure the hat and head to compare but I think it’ll be fine. P.S. I don’t knit and check gauge.

  3. thankyou, it was very easy to make a baby’s hat. u have given very easy and simple steps to follow. i made it and iam very happy. thankyou again and keep it up.

    • it’s according to the size you need, it’s listed under the pictures.
      Sizes: 0-3 months 64 STS, 3-6 months 72, 6-12 months 80
      Needles needed for this 0-6M you need US 8 DPN for 6-12M US 9 DPN

  4. Please explain row 10: K3 YO *K2tog K6 YO repeat from * K3 (3-6M K3 YO *k2tog K7 YO Repeat from * K4 — 6-12M K5 YO *K2tog K10 YO repeat from* K5). I wish tp knit this cap for a 18months-old using Red Heart thread. Thank you

    • Knit 3, yarn over (this creates lace/ holes which can be used for ribbons. You take your working yarn through the two working needles as if to purl, wrap the yarn over the right needle and continue the pattern)knit 2 together (instead of going into one loop on left hand needle go through two) *do not repeat knit 3, yarn over repeat knit 2 together, knit 6 yarn over* And finish off with knit 3. Each size is listed on which you follow but for an eighteen month you might want to go up a size in the needles and follow the 6-12 month pattern. Also the thread would probably be too thin and make it too small, medium weight 4 is best for this pattern. I hope this helps, good luck and happy knitting!
      ~Angel~

  5. After I do the ribbing you said to switch to bigger needles. I’m starting with size 8 for a 0 to 3 month size. What size do I switch to or do I start with something smaller then switch to size 9. If so what size would I start with. Thank you , Roz

    • Oh wow I must apologize! I made an error or actually it looks like I made two errors. I’ve adjusted this pattern when my niece was born and I edited 1 thing but forgot the rest it looks like… I’m very sorry! You actually start with a size 7 and stay with it, when I made this pattern my nephew was in a child’s size hat so I didn’t get to test it. For larger heads I would say switch to the next size up after the ribbing. But it is stretchy so it might be too big. So 0-3 months is a size 7, 3-12 months are size 8. I will fix that so hopefully it’ll make sense again. I do apologize for the error. I hope it’s not too much of a pain to fix. It’s not going to hurt the hat to be made on a size 8 but I found it to be slightly loose. Good luck and sorry again! I will fix that in a minute.
      ~Angel~

  6. Hi, for the 3-12 month decreases, am I just knitting in between the decreases or am I knitting 2 together in between? Also, how many rows would it be total for 3-6 & 6-12?

    • Yes you do knit between the decreases unless you are using straight needles then you purl to keep the stockinette, apparently my blog had a glitch so I had to rearrange the decrease rows so I went ahead and added the knit abbreviation in between to make it easier to follow.
      3-6 should have 37 rows and 6-12 should have 45 rows, hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

