Baby Mittens

These mittens are the newborn no scratch mittens, with my niece or nephew on the way I wanted to make a matching set consisting of a hat, booties, mittens, a blanket and a bunny or kitty. So I already have a bunny and kitty pattern which I might sell but they are my favorite patterns and turned out so nice I can’t just post them for free.
So back to the patterns I already posted the hat pattern and the booties, I made the treasured heirloom blanket that I link in one of my previous posts and mine didn’t turn out square, so I’m trying again unless someone has a pattern that’s diagonal blanket. So the mittens were so hard to find, no one seemed to have any that I liked so I made my own, it’s simple and I don’t think it’s like anyone else’s but I don’t know.


IMG_0248

Items needed: Lightweight 3 yarn (baby yarn)
Double Pointed Needles US 5 and 7
Crochet hook F/5 3.75mm
Yarn needle

Abbreviations: K-Knit
P-Purl
yo-Yarn Over
K2tog-Knit 2 together
CO-Cast On

CO 24 on US 5 dpn

join to work in the round row 1-5 K1 P1

6 K
7 K2 yo K2tog Repeat across row
8 K

9 K and switch to size 7 dpns

10-25K

26 K4 k2tog
27 K3 k2tog
28 K2 k2tog
29 K1 k2tog
30 k2tog

Thread yarn through last 4 needles and pull tight, weave in the ends.

Crochet chain to make bows for the mittens to help keep them on (I also did this for the booties pattern so they’d match)

Hopefully you’ll think this is cute, for smaller hands don’t change the needles, for bigger hands go a size up for both sizes. If you have any questions or need help let me know and I’ll try to help you. Happy knitting!

~Sarah~

 

This pattern is for private use only. Do not distribute or publish this pattern in any other form. If you like this pattern and would like to share please link to this blog.

 

Please do not make and sell this item.

 

18 thoughts on “Baby Mittens

  1. Hi i’m new to knitting and struggling! i love your pattern and i’m trying to make a christmas present for a friends newborn but im struggling to get the right sized wool…i managed to convert the needle size from US to mm but i’m not sure how to work out what size wool i need???your pattern says 3 yarn but i can only find wool in ply (e.g 1 – 2 ply) if you could give me any help that would be amazing thanks!!!

    • Wool is going to be too thick for a newborn pattern, baby yarn and light weight is best. Something thin really medium yarn might work, most wool I’ve found is too thick for baby stuff except a blanket. Hope I helped some, if you need any more help let me know! Happy knitting.

      ~Angel~

  2. The pattern says knit all the way through apart for the rib cuff, but the picture looks like stocking stitch which is 1 row knit and 1 row purl please clarify ?

  3. How did you knit the mittens in the picture? On straight needles or on dpns? I knitted them on straight needles and used your pattern then just sewed up the edge and they worked really well. But when I tried to do knit one row pearl one row to get the effect in the picture they were a little on the narrow side. Any advice?

    • I used DPNs, for straight you should probably add 2 more stitches, if they are still too narrow go up a size in needles and keep the extra 2 on the pattern. The lace row you need to end with the extra sts knitted. Hope that helps!

  4. Since I don’t have any US 7 DPN’s lying around…the biggest size I have handy are US 4…and suggestions for how many stitches I should add to the pattern or how i should adjust?? Trying to whip them up quickly for my son who keeps attacking his eyeballs!! :)

    Thanks!

    • Add 4 stitches to the pattern as well as 4 rows and don’t worry about switching the needles. Also the decrease rows should start with K5 K2tog then continue with the pattern. The total amount of rows should be 35, I hope this works out for you. Let me know how it turns out.

      • The mitts turned out really well! The cuffs are just under 2 inches in diameter and they are 4.5 inches in length. I’m not sure how that compares to yours! Did you ever post the pattern for the hat?

      • The hat is one of my older posts, I’m working on a kitty hat pattern now when I get finished I’ll post it. But just check my patterns, and I’m glad they turned out good. Happy knitting!

  5. Where can I find the pattern for matching booties? I made the mittens for my expected grand daughter and would like to make booties to match. Thanks.

    • I’ve got a pattern for booties on an older post, if you click on the “baby” category it should be one of the first patterns I posted (might actually be the first). I’d say if you’re using a lightweight or baby yarn it might be best to make the larger size or one of each to figure out the correct size, the ones I made and gave to someone never got used so I never found out if they actually fit or not. If you’re still having problems finding the pattern let me know. Also congratulations!

      • Thanks, Sarah.

        I saw those but noticed that they appear to be in garter stitch whereas the mittens are in stockinette. Guess I can just change that. I’m fairly new to knitting so hope that’s doable.

      • The Garter is only for the bottom, it makes it stretchy and soft, the top of it is in stockinette like the mittens. You can try to make the whole thing in stockinette but it might make it tighter, let me know how they turn out if you go all stockinette.

      • Thanks, Sarah. I couldn’t see the tops so thought they were all in garter. I may try all stockinette and see how they fit. I’ll let you know if I do.

Leave a Reply

