Dog food travel bag and treat bag

I made this a while back it’s a pretty basic pattern, I had a few people say my previous pattern was difficult, I tried to make it easy but I did say it was the hardest pattern I ever made. This is simple and I apologize for the previous but i did say it was hard, so on to the info on this one!

I made this a long time ago when I use to knit more, now I knit when needed and crochet more often. It can be a basic drawstring bag I do use it as that too, I use it more as as dog food travel bag, it is not air tight so don’t leave the food for weeks. I used it for about a week at most, but it’s great for trips to keep your fur babies full and happy. You can easily add stitches and rows or subtract them. Dogs can eat directly out of the bag so there’s no need to carry around a bulky bowl, when the food starts to get low you roll down the top and they can eat from it easier. My dogs know what these bags mean so they got excited when I got them to take pictures, I have 2 small ones for treats so I can just take treats for those few dog events in town. I did duplicate stitch to make these bags really cute, the Z is my own pattern because one of my dogs names is Fairlady Z (Z for short) I need to make another one with a different letter for my other dog. You can find these charts online, many of them were found through knitting pattern central others were found through google.
If anyone has any patterns similar I’m sorry I made this years ago and it is pretty basic so it could be fairly common.

20130226-084703.jpg

20130226-084735.jpg

20130226-084831.jpg

20130226-084923.jpg

20130226-085050.jpg

Sorry about the picture quality it was dark and my lamps aren’t the best.

Abbreviations: K-knit
P-purl
Co-cast on
Bo-bind off
Yo-yarn over
K2tog-knit 2 together
Kfb-knit front and back
Rep-repeat

Worsted weight yarn I used “I love this yarn”
US size 5 DPNs (A set of 5 is best)

CO 8 divided evenly on 4 needles

Join on row 1

Rows 1,3,5,7,9,11,13 are K

2) KFB around -16 stitches
4) K1, KFB around -24 stitches
6) K2, KFB around -32 stitches
8) K3, KFB around -40 stitches
10) K4, KFB around -48 stitches
12) K5, KFB around -56 stitches
14) K6, KFB around -64 stitches

15-44) K if you want you can P on row 17 it gives it a different look, the big pink and brown bags have that P row.
45) K4 *yo, k2tog, K6* rep between the * until 4 stitches remain, yo, K2tog, K2
46-50) K
51-55) K2, P2 around

BO

Make an I-cord with 3 or 4 stitches until it’s long enough

For the small treat bags I stopped at increase row 12 and 13-30 for K rows, 31 K3 *yo, k2tog, K5* rep until 4 remain, yo, K2tog, K2. 32-34 K 35-37 K2, P2.

It’s small enough for treats but not big enough for trips unless it’s just a day trip and you only have 1 dog. It’s pretty simple and I hope you all enjoy!

~Sarah~

This pattern is for private use only. Do not distribute or publish this pattern in any other form. If you like this pattern and would like to share please link to this blog.

Please do not make and sell this item.

2 thoughts on “Dog food travel bag and treat bag

  1. Hi there, I do believe your blog could possibly be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine
    but when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, fantastic site!

    • Thanks for the heads up, I’ve noticed a few problems with texts being the wrong sizes but I have no clue what to do because no matter what I try nothing fixes it. I wonder if it’s something to do with wordpress, I hate knowing that there’s a problem but I have no idea what to do to fix it. Thanks for telling me though!

Leave a Reply

